And our Driver of the Year 2015 is…



…Terry Coles from Bristol. Congratulations!

Designed to highlight and reward safe driving, our Driver of the Year 2015 event took place on Wednesday 28th October. We selected our top-performing drivers of the year to take part in the event, and Terry came up tops out of 72 drivers in total (61 Ocado delivery drivers and 11 representatives from our sponsors). Find out more below.

Continue reading

Driver of the Year

We love our drivers and judging by our Facebook and Twitter pages, you do too. It’s easy to see why really. They do a great job in all conditions and, I’m sure you’ll agree, are always super-friendly.

Every year we reward our top 50 drivers at our Driver of the Year event.  Held at Rockingham Motor Speedway, it celebrates the fantastic record we have in customer service and the safe driving of our fleet.

Picture of one of our drivers

This year’s event was a fantastic success and everyone had a great time driving dream cars like Ferraris and Aston Martins in a safe, controlled environment.

Picture of an Abarth steering wheel

And the winners of Driver of the Year 2013 are (drumroll please)…

  • William Major, Wimbledon spoke
  • Andrew Lewis, Weybridge spoke
  • Phillip Haplin, Hatfield spoke

Congratulations to all involved and thank you to the event sponsors Mercedes, S&B Commercial, Michelin, Capita, Paneltex, Ocado Insurance, Sopp & Sopp, Pro Drive, Smartdrive

Neil Shaw, Fleet Training and Development Manager

Picture of Driver of the year cap

Ocado’s Driver of the Year, 2012

DOTYSafe and responsible driving is very important to us at Ocado, and we’re proud to have won awards like the Company Driver Safety Award 2010 and the Safe Vehicles Award 2011. So every year, we recognise our most conscientious drivers at our Driver of the Year event.

To take part in the event (a day of activities and fun at Rockingham circuit), our drivers must score highly in our road safety quiz, have had no accidents in the last year and be exemplary employees.

Throughout the day, the drivers are awarded points based on car control, ability to follow instructions and safe driving. The highest scorer wins. So please join us in congratulating this year’s Driver of the Year, Tim Maxted, from our Wimbledon spoke. Sam Montague and Marc Hedges also deserve special mention, taking second and third place.

The event wouldn’t be possible without the generosity of our sponsors, so a big thank you must also go to our partners: Mercedes-Benz, S & B Commercial, Sopp & Sopp, Capita, Michelin, Atlas insurance, Paneltex.

Mark Bentley
Director of Service Delivery

Driver of the Year 2011

111011_blogLast Thursday we celebrated our annual Driver of the Year awards at the famous Rockingham Raceway in Northamptonshire.

The awards recognise safe driving, with entrants whittled down over the year according to strict criteria.

All delivery drivers (or CSTMs – Customer Service Team Members), HGV drivers and marshals are entered in December, and by the summer, those left in the competition take part in a road safety quiz. The highest scorers are then invited to the awards to show off their skills.

The day ends with a champagne reception and four-course meal, before a nail-biting announcement of the winner.

This year, the title went to Darren Morse. Congratulations!

Thank you to the sponsors who made the event possible. These were: Mercedes Benz, S&B Commercials, Michelin Tyres, Penaltex and Blue Fin.

Senior Communications Manager