Kindle FAQs

Why does the price of a product sometimes change when I put it in my trolley?
This is to make sure the price is accurate. When you’re shopping, the product price you see is what’s stored on your Kindle. When you add a product to your trolley, and when you check out, the app syncs automatically and updates any prices that may have changed.

Only syncing prices for products once they’re in your trolley keeps the app running smoothly. There are tens of thousands of products in the Ocado catalogue, syncing them all simultaneously could slow the app down.

Why has the price of my delivery slot changed?
When you’re first choosing a delivery slot on Ocado on the Go you’ll see prices for orders over £75. When you’ve selected a slot, and when you check out, you’ll see a full description of the price. For example: ‘Charge: £5.99 (£3.99 for orders over £75.00)’.

Why does the app download a lot of data during installation?
This is so you can shop when you’re offline, or when you’re on a poor network connection. When you first install the app, it downloads information about the tens of thousands of products in our catalogue directly to your Kindle – this means you can shop whenever you like, even if you’re not connected to the internet.

If you want to save disk space on your Kindle, you can choose to just shop online and not download the catalogue. To do this, simply find the Settings page, then choose ‘Catalogue type’ and change to ‘Online only’. Remember, if you do this, you won’t be able to shop offline.

Do I have to go to the main website to check out an order?
Nope – you can do your whole shop directly from the app.

If it’s your first time shopping with us, for security reasons we’ll ask you to add your payment details to our website. But as soon as you’ve added your info, you’ll be able to shop anytime, anywhere with Ocado on the Go.

How can I get to the shop, checkout or trolley without going back to the home screen?
You can check out or return to the shop by tapping the menu button. To quickly jump to the trolley, tap the ‘# items’ text in the menu bar at the top, next to the barcode icon.

Can I shop in landscape view?
Sure, simply rotate your Kindle to shop in landscape mode.

How can I change the way products are displayed?
In the Settings menu, choose how you want products to be displayed by changing the ‘Catalogue zoom level’ or ‘Trolley zoom level’.

Why can I only see detailed product info when I’m online?
What we call ‘Front of pack’ info – product names and prices – is downloaded automatically when you install the app. Detailed product information (‘Back of pack’) is only viewable when you’re online. This reduces installation time and saves storage space on your Kindle.

However, you can choose to download Back of pack info, if you like. In the Settings menu, select the ‘Catalogue type’ option, then select ‘Complete’ to sync all product info.

Please note: choosing to include all Back of pack information will double the amount of data being synced, so we recommend only doing this over Wi-Fi or if you have an unlimited data plan.

Do I have to complete a shop in one go?
No, we wouldn’t want you to rush. Your trolley is saved when you exit the app, ready for your return. If you’re online, your trolley will also be synced with ocado.com, so you can continue your shop from your computer.

Can I request a refund through the app?
Of course. Just like ocado.com, if you’ve had an order delivered in the past 24 hours and there’s an issue with something in your delivery, you can request a refund. Simply find the order page and tap the ‘Refund’ button. This will lead you through the refund request process.

Will secure information about my Ocado account be held on my Kindle?
Definitely not. We never store any secure information like your password or QuickPIN in the app. That’s why we always ask you for this information at check out, or when you’re booking a delivery slot.

Do I need to log out when I’ve finished shopping?
We’ll ask you to enter your password or QuickPIN before you perform any secure operation, such as booking a delivery slot or checking out, so it’s safe to stay logged in all the time.

Why don’t images appear immediately when I view a list of products?
To reduce installation time and save storage space on your Kindle, images are not downloaded as part of the catalogue when you first install the app. Instead, they’re only downloaded if and when they’re required.

So, when you view a list of products for the first time, the app will automatically download the images for those products. The images are then stored on your Kindle for future use.

The app seems to sync the catalogue in the background quite a lot. Why does this happen, and can I turn it off?
When you first install the app, it downloads information about our catalogue directly to your Kindle. Then, as you’re shopping, the app performs quick background checks to make sure all the product info is present and correct. You’ll see a notification during the update, but it won’t necessarily be a large data transfer.

If you’re happy to have the app sync over mobile networks, but want to manage when it happens, simply select ‘Close application’ in Settings menu. This will shut down the application so it won’t sync in the background. When you re-open the app, it will sync automatically.

To save disk space on your Kindle, you can choose to just shop online and not download the catalogue. To do this, simply find the Settings page, then choose ‘Catalogue type’ and change to ‘Online only’. Remember, if you do this, you won’t be able to shop offline.

Who can I contact if I’m having problems with the app, or if I have any suggestions for it?
You can get in touch in the app’s Settings menu. Simply tap ‘Email us’ or ‘Phone us’ to get in touch – we’re here 8am to 11pm every day of the week.

Still have questions? Take a look at our full FAQs.