iOS FAQs for iPhone and iPad

The app crashes when I try to open it – what should I do?

Simply restart your device: hold down the power button and then ‘Slide to power off’.

This issue is caused by a bug affecting certain iOS apps – including Version 2.65 of our app – which causes some apps to crash when they are opened.

Why does the price of a product sometimes change when I put it in my trolley?
This is to make sure the price is accurate. When you’re shopping, the product price you see is what’s stored on your iOS device. When you add a product to your trolley, and when you check out, the app syncs automatically and updates any prices that may have changed.

Only syncing prices for products once they’re in your trolley keeps the app running smoothly. There are tens of thousands of products in the Ocado catalogue, syncing them all simultaneously could slow the app down.

Why has the price of my delivery slot changed?
When you’re first choosing a delivery slot on Ocado on the Go you’ll see prices for orders over £75. When you’ve selected a slot, and when you check out, you’ll see a full description of the price. For example: ‘Charge: £5.99 (£3.99 for orders over £75.00)’.

Why does the app download a lot of data during installation?
This is so you can shop when you’re offline, or when you’re on a poor network connection. When you first install the app, it downloads information about the tens of thousands of products in our catalogue directly to your iOS device – this means you can shop whenever you like, even if you’re not connected to the internet.

Do I have to go to the main website to check out an order?
Nope – you can do your whole shop directly from the app.

If it’s your first time shopping with us, for security reasons we’ll ask you to add your payment details to our website. But as soon as you’ve added your info, you’ll be able to shop anytime, anywhere with Ocado on the Go.

What is ‘Express checkout’?
Express checkout allows you to check out without being asked to enter a password or QuickPIN. We recommend only using Express checkout if you’re shopping on a personal iOS device with a passcode enabled.

I can’t see the ‘One-Click’ button – why is this?
You might have the option turned off. Go to the Settings page to turn on One-Click additions.

If you’ve already turned on One-Click additions, but you can’t see the button when you have an upcoming order, you might not be able to edit it as it’s past the order’s cut-off time. Keep an eye on your email: every time you place an order we’ll send you a reminder of when your cut-off time is.

How can I get to the shop, checkout or trolley without going back to the home screen?
Simply tap the shop, trolley or checkout buttons at the bottom of the screen.

Can I shop in landscape view on the iPad app?
Sure, simply rotate your iPad to shop in landscape mode.

Can I request a refund through the app?
Of course. Just like, if you’ve had an order delivered in the past 24 hours and there’s an issue with something in your delivery, you can request a refund. Simply find the order page and select the ‘Refund’ button. This will lead you through the refund request process.

How can I change the way products are displayed?
Tap the grid icon in the top right of the screen to change how products are displayed.

Why can I only see detailed product info when I’m online?
What we call ‘Front of pack’ info – product names and prices – is downloaded automatically when you install the app. Detailed product information (‘Back of pack’) is only viewable when you’re online. This reduces installation time and saves storage space on your iOS device.

However, you can choose to download Back of pack info, if you like. In the app Settings, select the ‘Catalogue type’ option, then select ‘Complete’ to sync all product info.

Please note: choosing to include all Back of pack information will double the amount of data being synced, so we recommend only doing this over Wi-Fi or if you have an unlimited data plan.

Do I have to complete a shop in one go?
No, we wouldn’t want you to rush. Your trolley is saved when you exit the app, ready for your return. If you’re online, your trolley will also be synced with, so you can continue your shop from your computer.

Will secure information about my Ocado account be held on my iOS device?
Definitely not. We never store any secure information like your password or QuickPIN in the app. That’s why we always ask you for this information at check out, or when you’re booking a delivery slot.

Do I need to log out when I’ve finished shopping?
We’ll ask you to enter your password or QuickPIN before you perform any secure operation, such as booking a delivery slot or checking out, so it’s safe to stay logged in all the time.

Why don’t images appear immediately when I view a list of products?
To reduce installation time and save storage space on your iOS device, images are not downloaded as part of the catalogue when you first install the app. Instead, they’re only downloaded if and when they’re required.

So, when you view a list of products for the first time, the app will automatically download the images for those products. The images are then stored on your iOS device for future use.

The app seems to sync the catalogue in the background quite a lot. Why does this happen, and can I turn it off?
When you first install the app, it downloads information about our catalogue directly to your iOS device. Then, as you’re shopping, the app performs quick background checks to make sure all the product info is present and correct. You’ll see a notification during the update, but it won’t necessarily be a large data transfer.

If you’re on a limited data plan, you can change your preferences so the app only ever syncs over Wi-Fi. Simply go to the Settings menu, select ‘Catalogue download preference’, then choose ‘Wireless only’. Don’t worry – you’ll still be able to do your full shop on a mobile network.

How do I add or remove products from the trolley using Voiceover?
When you’ve selected a product, simply swipe up or down to add or remove it from the trolley. If this doesn’t work, try turning two fingers in a circular motion until the ‘Adjust Value’ setting is selected. Now swipe up or down to add or remove products.

Who can I contact if I’m having problems with the app, or if I have any suggestions for it?
You can get in touch with us directly through the ‘Need help?’ section of the Settings menu, or you can send us an email at If you’d like to speak to someone, call us on 0345 656 1234 – we’re here 8am to 11pm every day of the week.

Still have questions? Take a look at our full FAQs.

486 thoughts on “iOS FAQs for iPhone and iPad

  1. Why can’t I access the desktop site from my phone today? I could access it yesterday but today the switch to desktop has disappeared from the bottom left hand side of the page

    • We’re sorry for any delays getting back to you Kate. We hope you’ve since been able to access the desktop site from your phone. If you’re still having any trouble, please can you get in contact either over the phone on 0345 656 1234, via email at, through Live Chat on our website or even through Social Media. We’ll get to the bottom of it for you!

  2. Why I couldn’t use ‘refer to friend’ from iPhone app using Facebook? Can you email me the voucher so I can give it to my friends? Thanks.

    • Hi there Kristy. It’s great to hear you’re spreading the Ocado word! Unfortunately, the App doesn’t currently support the Invite a Friend scheme but you should be able to do this through a browser. If you’d like any further help please don’t hesitate to get in contact with us over Live Chat through our website or via Social Media.

    • Hi there Sam!
      Unfortunately we don’t current deliver outside of selected parts of the UK but we’re always looking into options in the future! We’re sorry for any disappointment and if you ever visit the UK, we hope you’ll think of us.

    • We’re sorry to hear this Nicola. We know how frustrating it can be when an App just won’t do what it’s meant to! We’re always looking to improve our App so hopefully there will be an update soon. We’ll pass the feedback on too.

  3. I have just re set my password to shop
    To Janet-67 .. I’ve logged on to the app & it’s still saying ‘logging out’
    To be clear my address is 19 Wolseley Road Crouch End London N8 8RR – my email address isl
    I haven’t used your service for many years possibly since I lived in Highbury N5 1UU
    & would Now like to use Ocado much again… but this is not making easy ??? What can you suggest? Lisa Byrne 07973521918.

    • Hi there Lisa. We’re sorry to hear you’re having trouble shopping with us. It is worth noting that this is a public domain and you may want to delete you details/post. If you’d like to get in contact with us over Live Chat through our website, social media or over the phone on 0345 656 1234, we should be able to get you back up and shopping!

  4. I am trying to log on but the site says my email is already in use but does not recognise email when I have tried to reset account password.

    I don’t know which address is in the system but live at Po212RZ

    • Hi there Mel. We’re sorry for any frustration with this! It sounds as though it could be a different postcode registered on the account – maybe a previous address. If you could give us a call on 0345 656 1234, Live Chat us through our website or speak to us over Social Media we should be able to get you back up and shopping!

  5. I deleted the app, reinstalled it, shut down my ipad but still the app crashed on opening. Any further ideas here? Working from a new ipad

    • Oh, that does seem strange and we can image the frustration! If you could get in touch with our Customer Service team we’d like to get this fed back so we can take a closer look. If you could Live Chat us through our website, speak to us over Social Media, email us at or even give us a call on 0345 656 1234, we’ll get on the case for you!

  6. Hi, I recently decided to go vegetarian and I was wondering if there was a way to remove all meat products from my browsing feed? If that feature doesn’t exist, is it something Ocado would consider adding? Thanks

    • Hello Keshnee, of course we have this feature available for you to use. If you go to Browse Shop > Free From & Organic > Vegetarian > View all Vegetarian. This will show you all the appropriate products. We hope this helps! 🙂

  7. Why after I finish my order and after asking me if I have missed any flash sales doesn’t it flash up fetch sizzle fabled in future dobbies so I can have a quick look at any sales or special offers in these sections .. Ocado employee

    • Hi there Paul! As these count as separate stores, Ocado won’t show any sale items from Fetch, Fabled or Sizzle during an Ocado checkout as orders would need to be placed separately and through their individual websites (but you can have them all delivered at the same time!). However, if you scroll to the bottom you should see ‘More from Ocado’, normally here we have a link to the other stores. We hope this helps!

    • Hi there Emily. Not to worry, it’s easily done 🙂 If you can speak to our Customer Service team over the phone on 0345 656 1234, email at, through Live Chat on our site or over Social Media we can look into the best way to get this returned for you.

    • Sorry to hear that Lynda. Please could we ask you contact us via another channel so we can look into this for you? You can chat us, tweet us, get in touch with us on Facebook, give us a call on 0345 656 1234 or fire over an email to

  8. I’m trying to update/edit my shop which is due to be delivered tomorrow- when I go to check out it says my trolley cannot be updated because my password doesn’t match- there is no where for me to add my password?! Help!?

    • Oh gosh, we’re sorry to read of this trouble you’re facing Rebecca. It sounds as though you’re experiencing an error with the loading of the page. Please close all open pages (don’t worry you won’t lose your trolley) and log back in again. This should rectify the issue for you. Alternatively, if you delete cookies and browsing history this may also work as some troubleshooting for you. If you continue to have trouble, please do come visit us on social media, live chat, email or telephone and we’ll be sure to fix this for you. 🙂

  9. Hi
    I placed an order yesterday night (Saturday night)and my grocery delivery due tomorrow early morning at 9:00 to 10:00 (on Monday)am but my my payment status is still PENDING.
    Explain please?

    • Oh no! Sorry to hear this Mr Waz Kan, please contact us and we can certainly take a closer look into this. Hope this helps!

  10. I’m not very technical but hone do I use my app to use the barcode scanner on the app to scan items I’ve seen in Ocadolife ? Just can take fathom it out !

    • Hi Marilla, if you go to the find a product search bar and and click on it to search for a product, a button should appear below that you can click on to search via barcode. We hope this helps but if you have further difficulty feel free to contact our customer service team 🙂

    • Hello Peter, we don’t charge £1 for paper statements, but you may be seeing a reserved payment of £1 in line with our pre-authorisation process. We’d like to look into this further for you to make sure this is the case, so please contact us via social media, live chat, email or telephone and we’ll be sure to confirm this for you.

  11. Hello!

    We bought our usual Cravendale milk which has a date of expiry of July 3rd but when we opened a brand new bottle yesterday, the milk was curdled and malodorous. Would this be eligible for a refund?


    • Oh no Sangeetha, how frustrating! Hopefully you were still able to enjoy your breakfast this morning. Please contact us via social media, live chat, email or telephone and we’ll be sure to look into this further for you.

  12. Hello I received an email today with offers of £55 over the next 4weeks but I deleted this in error. Was this offer for a new customer only or an existing one !

    • Hello Melanie, sorry to read that the email offers you received were deleted by accident, please don’t worry. We’re sure we can relocate those voucher codes for you. Please contact us via social media, live chat, email or telephone and we’ll be happy to help. 🙂

  13. Hi

    I am new to occado shopping and have a couple of questions.

    1. How do I remove things from the trolley after the order has been confirmed?

    2. How can I avoid good being substituted when what I’ve ordered is out of stock.



    • Hi Gemma, to edit your order whilst on the desktop site, go to My Ocado > Orders > Current Orders > Edit. The order will then reappear in your basket and you may add or remove items, just make sure you checkout again to confirm the changes. Once the cut-off point stated in your order confirmation email has passed, you’ll no longer be able to make changes as we’ll start packing your order. You’re unable to opt out of receiving substitutes, however you may leave a delivery instruction on the payment page of the checkout for your driver to remove and deduct any substitutes from your bill prior to delivery. You may also reject unwanted substitutes at the door to ensure you’re not charged for them. If you have any more questions feel free to email us at or call us on 0345 656 1234.

    • Hi Alicia, unfortunately you’re not able to share a shopping list or send it from one account to another, but we’ll pass on your suggestion.

  14. why i returned the bags, but no money give back. I wanna know why. And some food like milk and bread, the date were not very fresh. I always need to throw the food away since I cannot consume them before the date.

    • Hi Chloe, we’re sorry to hear the money wasn’t deducted from your bill for the returned carrier bags, and that some of your fresh products weren’t so fresh! Please can you email or call us through or 0345 656 1234 so we can look into this for you?

  15. I have got s free delivery for a year and £20 off first delivery. How do I put this into the app!
    Helen Crookston

    • Hi Helen, if you’ve already applied the voucher to your order, the 12 month free Smart Pass will automatically apply to your account up to 7 days after your first order is delivered. If you haven’t already applied the voucher, it can be entered at the ‘vouchers & coupons’ page that you’ll come to when going through the checkout process.

    • We are more than happy to process any refunds for bags handed back to the driver. Please contact us on 03456561234 or by emailing and we can certainly have a look into this further. Hope this helps!

    • You can edit your order and add/remove items once the order is placed up until the cut off time which is provided in the order confirmation email. If you need any assistance doing this, then please contact us on 03456561234 or by emailing, and we would be more than happy to help.

  16. Why is the app saying it cannot connect nearly all the time when all other apps are fine and there is no issue with the internet connection. App has become unusable in the last week. If not fixed will have to move to another grocery service

    • We are so sorry to hear you have had a bit of trouble with the app. We can imagine how frustrating this was. If you could please give us a call on 03456561234, or send an email to, we can look into this for you.

    • Hi Stephanie, we’re sorry to hear that you’ve been effected by the problems we’re having with the app at the moment. We became aware of this recently and our IT team are working to fix it as soon as they can.

  17. I am having exactly the same problem as Stephanie Nash. I’m unable to use the app as it constantly says it is unable to connect. I can’t select a delivery slot so am unable to place an order. Extremely frustrating. I will have to shop elsewhere.

    • We’re sorry that you’ve been effected by the same problems Karen, we’re looking to resolve this at the moment so it shouldn’t be too much longer until it’s fixed.

  18. When I go to check out, my iPad is saying that it can’t connect to Ocado. It’s been going on for 20 minutes this evening! I’ve tried turning the WiFi off and back on and turned my iPad off and on. Help!

    • Hi Hilary, we’re sorry to hear that you’ve been effected by the problems we’re having with the app at the moment. Our IT team are working hard to fix it so hopefully it won’t be long until it’s up and running as normal.

    • Hi Samantha, our IT team are working hard to fix it so hopefully it won’t be long until it’s up and running as normal. We’re sorry that you’ve been effected by this problem, in the meantime we’d advise using a desktop.

    • This is happening for me, too, since I updated my iPad to IOS11. Cannot add items to an existing order in the app because of this. It’s clearly not yet resolved properly?

  19. This new update is horrible – can’t follow links to items in lists anymore. Can’t view basket as a whole. I want to go back. This new version is awful! Can I install the old version?

    • Hi Sarah, we’re sorry that you’re having difficulty with the app at the moment. This is something that our IT team are working to fix but there isn’t a way to go back to a previous version of the app unfortunately.

    • Hi Lisa, to cancel an order on the app, you will need to go to the home page – then click into your order that you have placed, once your on that page, you should then be given the option to cancel your order. If you have any difficulties please feel free to call customer services on 0345 656 1234 and we will be happy to help.

  20. Hi there. For a few weeks now on iPad you can’t fully expand your favourites to the whole width of the screen when browsing the store. I select favourites, then go to push the three lines at the top left of that area and it no longer expands like it used to. Can you fix this in your app please?

    • We’re sorry to hear this Ian, if you turn your iPad horizontally/vertically does this change? Please can you contact us on 0345 656 1234 or at so we can locate your account and look into this?

  21. I received 2 items on Saturday which are not what I was expecting.
    They are unopened.
    I would like to return these for either a refund or credit more please.
    How do I do this?

    • We’re sorry to hear this Danielle, if the items didn’t appear on your receipt and you weren’t charged for them then feel free to keep them on us. Otherwise please can you email us at or call us on 0345 656 1234 so we can locate your account?

    • Hi Jill, when you go through the checkout process you’ll come to a ‘vouchers & coupons’ page just before the payment screen where you can enter a voucher and click ‘add’ to apply it.

  22. How do I cancel the smart pass payment which is automatically being taken? If I want to cancel it shortly after it’s been paid for so I get some money back?

    • Hi Dionne, if you call us on 0345 656 1234, we’ll be able to prevent your membership from renewing however we’re not able to refund or partially refund what you’ve already paid for.

    • Hi Jamie, at the moment it doesn’t work with Google Home, but our Tech Team are really good so hopefully this is something we may do in the future so keep your eyes pealed.

    • Hello Naka. Oh what a shame! We hope you have a nice time abroad however. Please give us a call on 0345 656 1234, or contact us on our Live Chat service and we will be able to assist you with this.

  23. Hello. I want to cancel an order but I can’t without entering my password which I don’t know. How can I change my password or just cancel the order?
    Thank you

    • Hi Elizabeth, if you can’t remember your password you can reset it by first logging out of your account, then attempt to log back in and you’ll see a ‘forgotten password’ option, we hope this helps!

  24. I deleted the Ocado App, BECAUSE, the app was 70MB and the data/documents it held was 700MB!!
    I’m not having a shopping app take-up 10% of my phone memory! I suggest people look at how much data the app holds on your phone…

    • We’re sorry to hear this Matt, we’ll feed this back to the relevant department and we apologise for any inconvenience this caused.

    • We can help you with this! You need to enable the skill on your Alexa app, and then link it with your Ocado account. To enable the device, you will need to say “Alexa, enable Ocado”. We hope this helps, and you need any more assistance with this, then please give us a call on 03456561234, or email us at

    • Hi Karen, you’ll see a blue heart on the products that are in your favourites, if you click this heart that item will be removed.

  25. There used to be a very useful « jotter » where you could put all you needed and then shop from the list.
    In the new update I cannot find it. Please let me know if it is somewhere or if it was removed. Thanks

    • Hi there Aude, we do still have this option on the website, under ‘My Ocado’ – ‘Shopping List’, we hope this helps! -Emma

  26. Hello,

    Please stop adding products to my basket as soon as I have set a delivery date and time. I absolutely hate it .


    • Hello Fabienne. Oh dear, we do apologise. This option is your Ocado Regulars they you have selected to have the same items enter your basket every week. If you would like to remove these from entering your trolley, please click on ‘View Trolley’ > ‘Manage your Ocado Regulars’ > Click the – button to remove these. We hope this helps, and you need any more assistance with this, then please give us a call on 03456561234, or email us at

  27. How can I turn off all the email notifications every time I add something to my trolley … I really don’t need or want them!

    • Hi Lorraine, that sounds rather irritating! Is it definitely when you add an item to your basket, or is it when you add an item to your order via editing or one-click? Please can you call us on 0345 656 1234 or email us at so we can look into this for you? -Taylor

    • Hi Carol. This feature isn’t currently available on the app, but if you head to the web version you’ll be able to do this. Please contact us on 0345 656 1234 or if you need any assistance with this.

  28. Is there any progress on the “can’t connect to the internet” bug? The app is now useless because of this. All my other apps connect and work fine so I know it’s not my wi-fi causing it. I’ve seen others complaining about this too. Would love it to be solved so I can use it again.

Leave a Reply to teamocado Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s