BlackBerry FAQs

Why does the price of a product sometimes change when I put it in my trolley?
This is to make sure the price is accurate. When you’re shopping, the product price you see is what’s stored on your BlackBerry. When you add a product to your trolley, and when you check out, the app syncs automatically and updates any prices that may have changed.

Only syncing prices for products once they’re in your trolley keeps the app running smoothly. There are tens of thousands of products in the Ocado catalogue, syncing them all simultaneously could slow the app down.

Why can I only see detailed product info when I’m online?
What we call ‘Front of pack’ info – product names and prices – is downloaded automatically when you install the app. Detailed product information (‘Back of pack’) is only viewable when you’re online. This reduces installation time and saves storage space on your Android device.

However, you can choose to download Back of pack info, if you like. In the settings menu, scroll down and select ‘Catalogue type’, then select ‘Complete’.

Please note: choosing to include all Back of pack information will double the amount of data being synced, so we recommend only doing this over Wi-Fi onr if you have an unlimited data plan.

Why has the price of my delivery slot changed?
When you’re first choosing a delivery slot on Ocado on the Go you’ll see prices for orders over £75. When you’ve selected a slot, and when you check out, you’ll see a full description of the price. For example: ‘Charge: £5.99 (£3.99 for orders over £75.00)’.

Why does the app download a lot of data during installation?
This is so you can shop when you’re offline, or when you’re on a poor network connection. When you first install the app, it downloads information about the tens of thousands of products in our catalogue directly to your BlackBerry – this means you can shop whenever you like, even if you’re not connected to the internet.

Do I have to go to the main website to check out an order?
Nope – you can do your whole shop directly from the app.

If it’s your first time shopping with us, for security reasons we’ll ask you to add your payment details to our website. But as soon as you’ve added your info, you’ll be able to shop anytime, anywhere with Ocado on the Go.

Can I shop in landscape view?
Sure, simply rotate your BlackBerry to shop in landscape mode.

Why can I only see detailed product info when I’m online?

What we call ‘Front of pack’ info – product names and prices – is downloaded automatically when you install the app. Detailed product information (‘Back of pack’) is only viewable when you’re online. This reduces installation time and saves storage space on your BlackBerry.

Do I have to complete a shop in one go?
No, we wouldn’t want you to rush. Your trolley is saved when you exit the app, ready for your return. If you’re online, your trolley will also be synced with ocado.com, so you can continue your shop from your computer.

Will secure information about my Ocado account be held on my BlackBerry?
Definitely not. We never store any secure information like your password or QuickPIN in the app. That’s why we always ask you for this information at check out, or when you’re booking a delivery slot.

Do I need to log out when I’ve finished shopping?
We’ll ask you to enter your password or QuickPIN before you perform any secure operation, such as booking a delivery slot or checking out, so it’s safe to stay logged in all the time.

Why don’t images appear immediately when I view a list of products?
To reduce installation time and save storage space on your BlackBerry, images are not downloaded as part of the catalogue when you first install the app. Instead, they’re only downloaded if and when they’re required.

So, when you view a list of products for the first time, the app will automatically download the images for those products. The images are then stored on your BlackBerry for future use.

The app seems to sync the catalogue in the background quite a lot. Why does this happen, and can I turn it off?
When you first install the app, it downloads information about our catalogue directly to your BlackBerry. Then, as you’re shopping, the app performs quick background checks to make sure all the product info is present and correct. You’ll see a notification during the update, but it won’t necessarily be a large data transfer.

If you’re worried about data usage, you can change your preferences so the app only ever syncs over Wi-Fi. Simply go to the Settings menu, find ‘Data connection’, then select the option in the pop-up that suits you best.

If you’re on a BIS or BES data plan, which provides unlimited data via the RIM service, you can also select this option from the ‘Data connection’ pop-up.

How do I shut down the app completely?
If you don’t want the app running in the background – to stop is syncing automatically, for example – simply go to the Settings menu, scroll to the bottom and select ‘Close application’.

Who can I contact if I’m having problems with the app, or if I have any suggestions for it?
Simply send us an email at mobile@mailocado.com or call us on 0345 656 1234 – we’re here 8am to 11pm every day of the week.

Still have questions? Take a look at our full FAQs.